Maintenance of Your Digital Music Archive

Once you have a larger digital music collection, it is a great joy to browse through the album covers and turn them over to view the back cover or to study the liner-notes. However, in order for everything to work perfectly, some maintenance procedures are required – just as you would with a CD or vinyl collection. The following tips are intended to help you to maintain your digital music collection so that you can get the most out of it:

I. Storage and Naming of Files and Folders:

Just as with your cupboards and drawers at home, it is easier to find things, when you keep a minimum of order.

  1. Set File Archive Structure. Decide on an archive structure and file all your files and folders consistently in that structure. As an example, it is a good idea to have a folder for each album, complete with cover art pictures and liner-notes. You could then compile all album folders of a particular artist in a specific artist folder and repeat that for all artists:
  2. Unify File Naming Convention. Although it is less important, how the music files are named, as the software doesn’t normally revert to the file names (as long as the meta data are available), it is none-the-less helpful to have a uniform naming convention for them: e.g. “Artist” – “Album” – “Track”.
  3. Clean-up File Duplicates. Over time it is inevitable that certain music files will appear more than once in your music collection. E.g., you once purchased a greatest hits album of a particular artist and later on one or the other individual album of that same artist, or you acquired an mp3 file of a track and later on purchased the album as a CD or download, or whatever. Watch for those duplicate files and delete them, unless you consciously want to compare different versions of the same album. Otherwise, they will take up storage space and cause unnecessary confusion when searching for specific music.
  4. Set Cover Art. It is only half the fun browsing through your music collection, when the cover art isn’t shown correctly. The software depicts the cover art correctly, when it fulfils certain simple conditions. In order for the software to show the cover art correctly, it has to be placed in the same folder as the corresponding music file(s). Make sure the following naming conventions are met (watch for capital/small letters):
    • The front cover picture is named “Front.jpg”
    • The back cover picture is named “Back.jpg”
    • The liner-notes file is named “Liner-Notes.pdf”

    Make also sure that the files correspond to the respective file formats. The cover art pictures have to be *.jpg-format and the liner-notes files *.pdf-format. Normally, the download portals will deliver the files in these formats. Just check to make sure. However, the naming of these files is handled by the download portals in a non-standard, arbitrary way and will require frequent corrections.

II. Manage Meta Data:

Most music files contain so called “meta data” or “tags”. Some are highly standardized (Mp3, Flac, AAC, ALAC, etc.), others less so (WAV). These are data about the respective music file, which are stored within the music file itself. These meta data usually contain information about:

  • Artist
  • Album
  • Track
  • Track number
  • Genre
  • Date
  • Comments
  • etc.

Music files that you download from commercial download portals, tend to have meta data of highly varying quality. Since download portals post the music files as they receive them from the music labels, the quality of the tagging depends on the care the music label takes in providing these data. Unfortunately, most music labels take little care in tagging their files. A “tagging service” provided by the download portals would be a real value add.

  1. Unify Spelling. Artists’ names can sometimes be spelled in numerously different ways. E.g., the name of the famous composer of Russian romantic music is spelled in any of the following variants:
    • Tschaikowsky, Peter
    • Tchaikowsky, Peter
    • Tchaikovsky, Peter
    • Tchaikovski, Piotr
    • Tchaikovskij, Piotr
    • Tsjaikovsky, Peter
    • Tchaikowsky, Pyotr
    • Tchaïkovski, Petr
    • Tchaïkovsky, Piotr
    • Tchaikofsky, Peter
    • Tschaijkowskij, Piotr
    • Tschaikowski, Peter
    • Chaykovskiy Pyotr
    • Ciaikovsky, Piotr
    • Ciaikovsky, Pjotr
    • Cajkovskij, Petr
    • Ciaikovskji, Piotr
    • Czajkowski, Piotr
    • etc.

    Decide on the way you want the artist to be spelled and apply that spelling consistently, so that the software can attribute all files belonging to the same artist to the same artist name. Otherwise you would end up with a number of entries under “T” and “C” all referring to the one famous composer of Russian romantic music – which would not make finding his music any easier.

  2. Complete Meta Data. The more meta data are provided with each music file, the more information is available to you when listening to the music, respectively the more detailed searches can be formulated. So, if possible, make sure all the meta data fields are filled in and add any missing information. You can find a lot of information on artists and their albums in online data bases such as Wikipedia, Discogs, freedb etc.).

Pflege des Digitalen Musikarchivs

Es macht viel Spaß beim Musikhören durch die Albencover der Musiksammlung zu browsen und die Albencover umzudrehen, um die Rückseite zu betrachten oder die Liner-Notes zu studieren. Damit die Dinge auch alle so funktionieren, wie sie könnten, sollten Sie Ihrer digitale Musiksammlung ein Mindestmaß an Pflege angedeihen lassen – ähnlich, wie Sie früher auch Ihre Vinyl- oder CD-Sammlung gepflegt haben. Damit Sie das Optimum aus Ihrer wertvollen Musiksammlung heraus bekommen, haben wir für Sie hier ein paar Pflege-Tipps zusammen getragen:

I. Abspeichern und Benennen der Dateien:

Wie im heimischen Kleiderschrank, ist es auch im Musikarchiv leichter etwas zu finden, wenn man es aufgeräumt hält.

  1. Archivstruktur festlegen. Überlegen Sie sich eine Archivstruktur und legen Sie Ihre Musikdaten konsequent in dieser Struktur ab. Z.B. können Sie für jedes Album einen eigenen Ordner anlegen, komplett mit Musik-, CoverArt- und Liner-Notes-Dateien. Alle Alben/Ordner eines Künstlers legen Sie in einen übergeordneten Ordner für diesen Künstler an:
  2. Dateinamenstruktur vereinheitlichen. Obwohl es weniger wichtig ist, wie die Dateien benannt werden, da die Verwaltungssoftware nicht auf die Dateinamen zugreift (solange Metadaten verfügbar sind), ist es dennoch hilfreich, die Dateien konsistent zu benennen, z.B. in folgendem Format: „Künstler“ – „Album“ – „Titel“.
  3. Dateiduplikate bereinigen. Im Laufe der Zeit kommt es vor, dass man identische Musikdateien mehrfach im Musikarchiv hat. Z.B. Kauft man sich ein Greatest-Hits-Album eines Künstlers und etwas später vielleicht noch das eine oder andere einzelne Album des Künstlers, so dass man mache der Titel anschließend doppelt hat. Oder sie haben ein paar mp3-Dateien eines Künstlers und Kaufen sich später das Album als CD- oder HighRes-Download. Achten Sie darauf, dass Sie doppelt vorhandene Musikdateien löschen, es sei denn, dass Sie bewusst Vergleiche zwischen verschiedenen Versionen desselben Albums haben wollen, da Sie ansonsten unnötig Speicherplatz verbrauchen und in den Suchfunktionen zu Verwirrung führen können.
  4. CoverArt einrichten. Durch die Musiksammlung zu browsen macht nur halb so viel Spaß, wenn die CoverArt nicht richtig angezeigt wird. Die Software zeigt die CoverArt korrekt an, wenn sie bestimmte Bedingungen erfüllt. Damit die Software die CoverArt zur Anzeige identifizieren kann, sollten die entsprechenden Dateien im selben Ordner abgelegt sein, wie die dazugehörigen Musikdateien. Achten Sie auf folgende Bezeichnungskonvention (Groß-/Klein-Schreibung beachten):
    • Das Frontcoverbild wird als „Front.jpg“ benannt
    • Das Backcoverbild wird als „Back.jpg“ benannt
    • Die Liner-Notes-Datei wird als „Liner-Notes.pdf“ benannt

    Stellen Sie sicher, dass die Dateien den jeweiligen Dateiformaten entsprechen, d.h. die Bilder müssen *.jpg-Dateien sein und die Liner-Notes, *.pdf-Dateien. Die Dateien werden von den Downloadportalen im allgemeinen in diesen Dateiformaten geliefert. Allerdings wird die Bezeichnung sehr unterschiedlich gehandhabt, so dass Sie hier korrigierend eingreifen müssen.

II. Verwalten der Metadaten:

Die meisten Musikdateien haben sog. „Metadaten“ oder „Tags“. Manche sind sehr standardisiert (Mp3, Flac, AAC, ALAC, etc.) andere weniger (WAV). Das sind Daten über die jeweilige Musikdatei, die in der Datei selber abgespeichert werden. Diese Metadaten enthalten üblicherweise Informationen über:

  • Künstler
  • Album
  • Titel
  • Titelnummer
  • Genre
  • Datum
  • Kommentare
  • etc.

Musikdateien, die Sie von entsprechenden Downloadportalen herunterladen sind leider in sehr unterschiedlicher Qualität mit diesen Metadaten versehen. Da die Downloadportale die Dateien von den Musiklabel empfangen und diese nur weiterreichen, hängt die Qualität der Metadaten von der Sorgfalt der Labels ab. Die meisten Labels verwenden leider wenig Sorgfalt auf das „Tagging“ ihrer Musikdaten. Ein „Tagging-Service“ der Downloadportale wäre ein echter Mehrwert.

  1. Schreibweise vereinheitlichen. Ein Künstlername kann z.T. auf verschiedene Arten geschrieben werden. Der Name des beliebten Komponisten der russischen Romantik kommt u.a. in diesen Varianten vor:
    • Tschaikowsky, Peter
    • Tchaikowsky, Peter
    • Tchaikovsky, Peter
    • Tchaikovski, Piotr
    • Tchaikovskij, Piotr
    • Tsjaikovsky, Peter
    • Tchaikowsky, Pyotr
    • Tchaïkovski, Petr
    • Tchaïkovsky, Piotr
    • Tchaikofsky, Peter
    • Tschaijkowskij, Piotr
    • Tschaikowski, Peter
    • Chaykovskiy Pyotr
    • Ciaikovsky, Piotr
    • Ciaikovsky, Pjotr
    • Cajkovskij, Petr
    • Ciaikovskji, Piotr
    • Czajkowski, Piotr
    • etc.

    Entscheiden Sie sich für eine Schreibweise und benennen Sie alle Dateien von dem Komponisten entsprechend einheitlich, damit die Software die diversen Musikdateien immer demselben Künstlernamen zuordnen kann. Ansonsten haben Sie viele verschiedene Einträge unter „T“ und „C“ die alle eigentlich zur selben Person gehören, was Ihnen das suchen und finden bestimmter Musikstück erheblich erschweren würde.

  2. Metadaten vervollständigen. Je vollständiger die Metadaten ausgefüllt sind, umso mehr Informationen stehen Ihnen anschließend beim Anhören zur Verfügung, bzw. erlauben Ihnen umso feinere Suchkriterieneingaben. Also, wenn möglich füllen Sie alle Felder aus. Gute Informationen zu Künstlern und Alben gibt es in vielen Onlinedatenbanken (z.B., Wikipedia, Discogs, freedb etc.)