Home

Imagine a playback device that is as simple in handling as a CD-player, as graphically rich in communication as a computer and as natural and analogue in sound quality as a John Lennon record on a high-end turn table.
You may say I’m a dreamer – but not any longer – I hope someday you’ll join us.

This Device is the DAS HD-Player!

The HD-Player is controlled as easily as any CD-player: unpack it, connect the cables, switch it on, select an album or track, press “Play” and enjoy … You don’t even need to put a record on or insert a disc.

Continue reading ...

You can actually also control the HD-Player conveniently from your sofa or arm chair with any Android or Apple tablet. You literally have your entire music collection at the tip of your finger and enjoy a rich graphical user interface (music archive, cover art, album and artist information) as you may have come to expect from the best computer software applications – entirely without software installation or network installation and certainly without keyboard and mouse – simply without computer.

… and when you hear the first sounds, you will hardly believe your ears. The music sounds so natural, realistic, with overwhelming dynamics and detail, with physical space, weight and mass and perfect timing – as you only know it from the best vinyl turn tables.

Even music ripped from a CD sounds generally better played back via the HD-Player than most CD-players. What at first sounds implausible – for how can a copy sound better than its original? – has its explanation in the technology of CD data extraction: CD-drives are real-time drives, i.e. they output what they read more or less immediately (save for a few seconds of FEC buffer). Given the high speeds of CD drives and the tolerances in mechanical and optical geometry as well as surface imperfections of the CD disc, reading errors are unavoidable. In contrast to that, ripping drives have no real-time requirements, so that the audio files can be read, re-read and re-re-read – at reduced speed if need be – until a bit-perfect, faultless copy of the music file is obtained, which is then committed to memory. Consequently, the ripped file is generally superior (as it contains fewer errors) to the playback of the same file from its original CD (exceptions are provided by very, very high quality CD-drives that have so small tolerances in mechanical and optical geometry that they get the CD data extraction right the first time – however, they generally come with a five digit EURO price tag).

Your entire Music Collection at the Tip of Your Finger

Copy your existing music files conveniently via network connection from your PC onto the internal storage media of the HD-Player or automatically via the USB-connection from an external USB-drive or download new music files from the internet. In this way you can transfer your entire digital music collection to the HD-Player and successively build it up and extend it. Thus, you have your entire music collection at your service – at any time – at the tip of your finger. The music files remain freely available to you so, of course, you can transfer and copy them ad libitum.

Highest Fidelity

The HD-Players are optimized for highest fidelity of sound reproduction. They therefore offer the best possible playback of your digital music files, up to Studio Master Quality, i.e. the sound quality that the musicians and sound engineers heard themselves during recording and post-production in the studio. Contributing to this is the no-compromise digital signal processing of the HD-Players, the carefully designed separate power supplies for analogue and digital sections, the mechanical construction of the casing in separate chambers for all functional units as well as the high-end non-oversampling DAC without digital filters, delivering a most natural and analogue sound image.

High-quality Workmanship

Every HD-Player is individually ‘manu-factured’ by hand. The mechanical construction with massive chassis plates and separate chambers for every functional section minimizes the effects from vibration and electro-magnetic interference. The result is a device in which your valuable music files are stored as safely as in a vault. The combination of different materials like steel, aluminum and wood with their careful surface finishes gives each HD-Player its appearance of technical but understated elegance.

Music differs from all the other arts through not being reproductive of reality, but being most immediately reality itself. That is why music goes straight to the heart, without requiring the mind.
Alexej C. Ogorek, Founder

Home

Stellen Sie sich ein Musikabspielgerät vor, das in der Bedienung so einfach ist wie ein CD-Spieler, in der graphischen Informationsaufbereitung so reich wie ein Computer und in der Klangqualität so realistisch wie ein High-End-Plattenspieler.

Dieses Gerät ist der DAS HD-Player!

Der HD-Player lässt sich so einfach bedienen, wie ein CD-Spieler: Auspacken, Kabel anschließen, einschalten, Musik auswählen, auf „Play“ drücken und genießen … Sie brauchen nicht einmal eine Scheibe auf- oder einzulegen.

Weiterlesen...

Dabei können Sie den HD-Player auch bequem vom Sofa aus mit jedem Android- oder Apple-Tablet bedienen. Sie haben Ihre gesamte Musiksammlung mit der Spitze ihres Fingers abrufbereit und genießen eine graphisch reich bebilderte Interaktion (Musikarchiv, CoverArt, Album- und Künstlerinformationen), wie Sie sie von den besten Computerapplikationen kennen – ohne Softwareinstallation, ohne Netzwerktechnik und ohne Tastatur und Maus. Einfach ohne Computer.

… und wenn Sie die ersten Töne vernehmen, werden Sie (eine hochwertige Aufnahme vorausgesetzt) ihren Ohren kaum trauen. Die Musik tönt so natürlich, realistisch, mit überwältigender Dynamik, Volumen, Räumlichkeit, Körperlichkeit und perfektem Timing, wie Sie es nur von den besten Vinyllaufwerken kennen.

Selbst die Musikdateien, die zuvor von einer CD gerippt wurden klingen besser als von der Original-CD, wenn sie über den HD-Player wiedergegeben werden. Was zunächst unplausibel klingt – denn wie kann eine Kopie besser klingen als das Original? – erklärt sich durch die Technik des Datenauslesens: CD-Laufwerke sind real-time Wiedergabelaufwerke, d.h. dass sie das, was sie auslesen auch mehr oder weniger sofort wiedergeben und dadurch wenig Möglichkeiten zur Fehlerkorrektur haben. Aufgrund der Vorwärtsfehlerkorrektur (FEC) von nur wenigen Sekunden bei CD-Player Laufwerken – egal wie gut – entstehen prinzip-bedingt Lesefehler. Lesefehler entstehen durch die nicht perfekte mechanische und optische Geometrie  von CD-Laufwerken oder durch Oberflächenschäden im CD-Datenträger oder einfach nur durch Verschmutzung. Da beim Auslesen oder Rippen einer CD (im Gegensatz zum Abspielen) keine Echtzeit-Anforderung vorliegt und so die Audiodaten ggf. so lange mehrfach ausgelesen werden können bis eine fehlerfreie (sog. Bit-genaue) Kopie erzielt wurde, ist CD-Ripping in der Lage, diese Daten in perfekter Qualität – eben bit-genau -zu verarbeiten, und daraus einen Datenstrom ohne die beschriebenen Mängel zusammenzusetzen.

Ihre gesamte Musiksammlung auf einem Gerät

Ihre Musikdaten kopieren Sie einmalig bequem per Netzwerkverbindung von Ihrem PC auf die internen Festplatten des HD-Players oder automatisch über die USB-Anschlüsse von einem externen USB-Laufwerk. So können Sie Ihre gesamte digitale Musiksammlung auf dem HD-Player aufbauen und sukzessive erweitern. Damit haben Sie jederzeit ihre gesamte Musiksammlung vollständig „im Griff“. Die Musikdaten auf dem HD-Player bleiben Ihnen selbstverständlich jederzeit zugänglich, so dass Sie sie beliebig auf andere Speichermedien kopieren können.

Höchste Wiedergabequalität

Die HD-Player sind auf höchste Klangqualität optimiert und bieten Ihnen die bestmögliche Wiedergabe Ihrer Musikdateien bis zu Studio Master Qualität, also jenem Qualitätsniveau, das die Musiker selber während der Aufnahme gehört haben. Dazu trägt die kompromisslose digitale Signalverarbeitung ebenso bei, wie die aufwendige, für digitale und analoge Arbeitsbereiche getrennte, Stromversorgung oder der mechanische Aufbau in getrennten Kammern für alle Arbeitsbereiche und die hochwertigen Non-Oversampling DACs, ohne digitale Filter, die ein außerordentlich natürliches und analoges Klangbild liefern.

Hochwertige Verarbeitung

Jeder HD-Player wird aufwendig von Hand gefertigt. Der mechanische Aufbau mit massiven Gehäuseplatten und separaten Kammern für jeden Arbeitsbereich minimiert Vibrationen und elektromagnetische Beeinflussung der Arbeitsbereiche und resultiert in einem Gehäuse, in dem Ihre Musikdaten so sicher aufgehoben sind, wie in einem Tresor. Die Verbindung verschiedener Materialien, wie Aluminium und Edelholz verleiht der äußeren Erscheinung der HD-Player ihre schlichte Eleganz.

Musik unterscheidet sich von allen anderen Künsten dadurch, dass sie kein Abbild der Realität vermittelt, sondern ganz unmittelbar die Realität selbst abbildet. Deswegen geht sie direkt zu Herzen – ohne Umweg über den Verstand.
Alexej C. Ogorek, Gründer